Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Who Voted For This Again?

New PGA Tour PAC (Player Advisory Council) member Jerry Kelly has been quoted a lot in the past few days about Rule 78 and the constant inquiry by players of who actually passed the rule. So, who did vote for the rule?

Well, the PGA Tour Policy Board did. Who is on the Policy Board? I can't seem to find everyone who is on it, but here is an idea of who is a part of the nine members thanks to PGA.com.

Vic Ganzi took over Monday as chairman of the PGA TOUR Policy Board with the retirement of longtime chairman Dick Ferris. Ganzi is president and CEO of Hearst Corp., and the person largely responsible for the TOUR's retirement plan.

Ed Whitacre, chairman emeritus of AT&T, also joined the policy board as an independent director.

Brad Faxon and David Toms return to the policy board as player directors, replacing Davis Love III and Joe Durant.

That's four of the nine. There are two other player directors. I even checked the media site and couldn't find it, so sorry about being a little vague.

Still, the fact remains that the players could have been outnumbered on this decision 5-4 by non player members. I doubt that was the case, but who knows.

I'll get back to you on this one, but it is something to wonder.

No comments: